‘Writing’ Again …

It’s been a while since I ‘wrote’ with a pen and paper. Sometime back, a friend sent me a hand-written note by actual, physical, post (courier), and I have been recalling my days of communicating over the slow-net ever since.

Recently, I cleaned my old Parker pen, and although I still don’t have a good quality ink in it, it’s working like it used to. Without fuss. I’ve forgotten how to write pages after pages on a paper, without endlessly rewriting sentences, as typing on computer allows. This is just a beginning to the journey back home. Of course, I don’t see this as anything other than a ode to nostalgia. I can’t even finish a blog post length piece on paper, and I don’t intend to go back to writing on paper primarily, ever. But it would be good to see what the restrictions of the medium do to my writing, after all these years of using a different medium.

And Atul, do send me your postal address. One of these days, I’m writing back. After these baby steps, I feel confident …

1515_001

To be continued …

PS: While you wait for the full post (bit of vanity is the only thing that keeps us part timers going, so let me believe this) also read something Atul wrote on same theme: Paper & Me.

4 thoughts on “‘Writing’ Again …

  1. Moushumi Ghosh says:

    I used to write on paper and in fact still do but not as much as I used to. My thoughts order themselves beautifully with a pen in hand. I send postcards too so that have to write by hand.

    • asuph says:

      That’s nice. I turned to keyboards completely over the last few years. So I don’t really know if returning, even partially, to paper would really work or not. But, hey, it’s not like I’m writing like Ghosh, so can’t be that bad to try …

Leave a Reply

