socha na tha (a loose translation)

Inspired (lol!) by the snippets of this Labi Siffre song, thanks to Atul‘s beautiful post, I tried my first translation into an Indian language (typically I attempt translations from Marathi/Hindi into English). And as always, I’ve taken enough liberties with translation, that it’s anything but authentic.

Thanks Atul, not just for the song, but for a spate of blogs that’s helping me break my (now perennial) writers-block.

सोचा  था  तुम्हारी याद आएगी
थोडीसी, और करेगी बेचैन
थोडासा..

पर इतना, ये  ना सोचा था

ना सोचा  था
हाल-इ-दिल ऐसा भी होगा कभी
की आँख खुलते तुम ख्वाबोंसे
खयालोमे में उतर आओगे
और तुम्हारी कमी का अहेसास
दिलाएगी याद हर सांस

ना तुम्हारी याद, ना ख्वाब
दिलाएंगे सुगुन अब
सिर्फ तुम्हारी आहट
इस बेचैनी को भुलाएगी दो पल

और सिर्फ तूम
भूलाओगे अहेसास
इस कमी का
सिर्फ तूम…

3 thoughts on “socha na tha (a loose translation)

  1. Aria says:

    something wrong with the spellings I guess .. but then that aside.. I really liked this poem ..
    reminiscent of Dushyant Kumar’s poetry.. have you read him? he is my favorite Hindi poet.

Leave a Reply

