In the summer of discontent

The hot streets
are spewing venom
as I observe
from within the comforts
of the tinted glass
and endlessly complain
about the artificial cold
that’s keeping me away
from the summer of discontent

The tinted glass
is stuck
between the two worlds
but cracks will appear
as we near
the summer of discontent

Hope is burning
under the lens of pragmatism
we’re all masters
of here and now
but we can’t anticipate
the stink of the flesh
that will burn
in the summer of discontent

There will be
no mercy
no shelter
no refuge
every bridge
will melt and burn
and April will be
the cruelest month
in the summer
of discontent

3 thoughts on “In the summer of discontent

  1. Aria says:

    :>(
    brutal built-up leading to a shattering end..
    I really liked the first stanza..
    btw.. the world is full of people who survive self-inflicted misfortunes and the irony is .. we aren’t sorry ..

  2. asuph says:

    aria: if it weren’t for you (and iw to some extent), most of my blogs would have gone uncommented. thanks :). and sorry for the brutality!

  3. Tosha says:

    hmmm … Its not just this post … my views are general … what you write is bold … and real … very factual … I would not say I like all you write… cos some of the topic you have I wish never existed. Then I am no one to comment on them as this is every individuals very personal choice and i want no hard feelings.

    Though I write more poetry I really liked your poetry. Thanx for sharing 🙂

    Regards
    Tosha

Leave a Reply

