Guardian Angel

I’ve descended the
depths of hell,
explored the dark
innards of my mind

I’ve tasted poison
to cleanse myself
of sterile virtues
and mortal fears

I’ve drunk the elixir,
and the youth
has tired me with
its monochrome optimism

The colors of envy
and the shades of lust
have all burned down
to gray lifeless ash

Still, when I close my eyes
my soul lights up
with the glow
of your innocence

An undeserved peace
fills my heart
soothes my nerves
alleviates the pain

A moment before I return
to mundane reality
I forget
The existential angst

5 thoughts on “Guardian Angel

Leave a Reply

