Walk with me

Walk with me
In the empty vastness
of my imagination…
the deserts
with dried up oases
where even mirages
seem surreal

For years
I’ve have dreamed
in black and white
with a tinge of blue
that wipes out
even the trace of rainbows,
in its monochromatic excesses

I’ve wandered
into imaginary woodlands
Dismissed unicorn sightings
as hallucinations,
And died a hundred
deaths poisoned by the vines

But I’ve believed in you
Even as I walked alone
on those never-ending roads
and crossed shuffling sand-dunes
taking over yet another
cherished epitaph of civilization

Like a man possessed by your signs,
everywhere —
in the fragile tranquility of the ponds,
in that tiny flower on that corroding rock,
in the call of the winds,
the soft shells, and their prints
in the semi-dry sands;
the languid flight of a flycatcher

I’ve followed all those leads
To find you
And yet I’m afraid
The vast emptiness of
my imagination
will come between us
once again

Will you (walk with me)?

10 thoughts on “Walk with me

  1. Aria says:

    I read it thrice too, this time, by-choice and I’ll be back, to read this encounter between thought and labyrith, yet again. As much as I admire your prose, I’ve a weak spot for your poems ..

    “For years
    I’ve have dreamed
    in black and white
    with a tinge of blue”

    felt nice .. reading a poem written by you.. after a long time.. (yes.. it seems quite long)

  2. Vivek says:

    Asuph, you manage to choke me so many times….

    Thanks for writing (hiatus that leads you to this must be termed as pausing for inspiration)

    Aria already pointed out the weak lines (they shine in sand like a shard of broken mirror: hurts the eye and the feet of the reader)

    Have you read Rilke?
    Read his Letters to a Young Poet…. (prose)
    and then translations by Robert Bly

  3. Aria says:

    Btw, I was mesmerized by your words and cinematic sweep.. so I committed a typo. :>( I meant for your ‘poem’ not ‘poems’ sorry about that. Poetry here, is far more admirable. (‘In serach of rainbows’ .. is my favorite so far. Did I tell you I read it at least once, every week? :>D)

  4. IW says:

    “I’ve followed all those leads
    To find you
    And yet I’m afraid
    The vast emptiness of
    my imagination
    will come between us
    once again”

    These lines echo my fears, totally.

  5. asuph says:

    zaphod: thanks. do come back.

    aria: thanks a lot. yes, it’s been a while.

    vivek: thanks for those bunch of comments. i’ll not respond, but ponder over them.

    iw: hmmm. lekin bhai mere, you don’t need that fear right now.

    pinkemralds: thanks.

    punds: u think i understand?

    phish: 🙂 thanks. do come back. i hope you find something interesting here.

Leave a Reply

