Teen Patti

The other day
You asked a question
I looked away…
Truth might be unpleasant
But lies are so much
More difficult

It’s along the way,
I guess, that we stop
Reading distressing signs
And buy fairy-tales
A cheap bargain

When life says show
We plead for time
Window dressing
Waking up is painful
We stick to nightmares

Today, I want to wake up
Smell the stale air
Hear the noises
Touch the cold floor
See the chaos
And Taste defeat

Note: teen patti is a popular Indian card game, a variation of 3-card poker.

5 thoughts on “Teen Patti

  1. Merryweather says:

    Nice. Seems more spontaneous than your usual poems- even as the thoughts appear a little hazy… I hope you get what I mean..
    Liked this best:
    “When life says show
    We plead for time
    Window dressing
    Waking up is painful
    We stick to nightmares”

  2. asuph says:

    hey mw,

    well most of my poems are spontaneous. i rarely spend time on reformatting them even. so i’m puzzled why this one “seems” more spontaneous.

    thanks,
    asuph.

  3. Aria says:

    taste defeat .. *sigh* I can tell you with conviction.. even that is addictive ..
    “Waking up is painful
    We stick to nightmares”
    That was absolutely wonderful!

  4. Vivek says:

    If I compare these to your poems from years before, I see a different poet has arrived: and I have to moan and sigh while reading him. (had you read it in Hindi, I would have said Wah! Wah!…. I’m told sigh is similar response in English poetry, so there you go)

    Truth might be unpleasant
    But lies are so much
    More difficult

    ….beautiful!

Leave a Reply

