Musings

She walks away
Never to come back
I fear

On the horizon
Her silhouette
Blends with the oblivion

I slump down
Brooding, dejected,
Waiting, hopeless

Days, weeks, months
I flirt with mirages
One eye on the horizon

Losing patience
I cry out loud
Won’t you come back?

Distorted echos
Eerie silence
Internal noise

Finally, I let go
I sob, then I start to cry
Time, it just goes by

What have you done
To yourself, my love?
A soft voice caresses me

I’m nothing without you
You know that, don’t you?
She smiles, that mysterious smile

But you are!
If only you’ll stop
Looking at the horizon

I’m lost
When you leave me
Why do you, my love?

Because, she says kindly
When I’m around
You stop growing

Look at me!
Am I growing?
I ask, cynically

Look at you!
Stop searching for me
And answers you’ll find

Another dream, I say
As I curse
The return to reality

And yet I sense her
I know she will come back
It’s just a matter of time

4 thoughts on “Musings

  1. Scarlett says:

    Asuph,
    Loved this one, succint and crisp. And cohesive and sharp. Why is it that when muses, ideas, perhaps people even, leave or walk away, the best verses are created?

    Keep writing
    Scarlett

  2. asuph says:

    Hey Scarlett,

    Thanks for commenting. It’s ironic, isn’t it? I wrote this one in under ten minutes, and hardly touched it before/during posting. Glad you liked it.

    regards,
    asuph

  3. ardra says:

    loved it- have always been haunted by the imagery of horizons, mirages-

    and somehow I’m curious to find the words for these concepts in different languages- the words by themselves seem lyrical- for eg:
    Horizon in malayalam is ‘chakRavaaLam’ and mirage is ‘mareechika’.

    In Tamil, i think it is ‘thoduvaanam’ for horizon
    and ‘kaanalneer’ for mirage- I’m not sure.

    in hindi- ‘Kshitij’ I think is horizon, but i don’t know the word for Mirage.
    What are the corresponding words in Marathi?

  4. asuph says:

    ardra,

    welcome back to my blog 🙂

    in marathi, it’s still khsitij for horizon, in fact its a sanskrit word if i’m not wrong. mirage is mrigajal — i think in hindi it is mrigaya? again mrigajal is sanskrit.

    regards,
    asuph

Leave a Reply

