Poem Of the Day (Mar 20)

Walls

With no consideration, no pity, no shame,
they have built walls around me, thick and high.
And now I sit here feeling hopeless.
I can’t think of anything else: this fate gnaws my mind –
because I had so much to do outside.
When they were building the walls, how could I not have noticed!
But I never heard the builders, not a sound.
Imperceptibly they have closed me off from the outside world.

Constantine P. Cavafy

(from http://cavafis.compupress.gr/index2.htm)

One thought on “Poem Of the Day (Mar 20)

  1. anonymous says:

    Very poignant! The metaphor of walls can explain what we feel almost all the time. We bang against walls (face obtsacles), climb over walls (are successful), break down walls (start communicating), build walls (stop communicating) and poets write poems about walls (Frost’s “Mending Wall” comes to mind).

    AFJ
    http://www.southwestsun.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

