Of Unknown Poets and Life Fundaes

Recently, I finished re-reading a Marathi book : Tu Bhramat Ahasi Waya (loosely translated — You’re wandering unnecessarily, a line from Dnyaneshwari if I’m not wrong), by Vasant Kale (known as Va. Pu. Kale or just Vapu). He was one of the distinguishing writers in Marathi, appreciated both by masses and classes. This book is like the pinnacle of his writing, synthesizing thoughts from Kabir to Dnyaneshwar seamlessly. If there is one complaint I have against this book, it’s that some of the quotations are without any source. For instance, here is an excerpt of a hindi poem that one of the characters in the book recites:

jeevan me madhu ka pyala tha
tumne tanman de dala tha
wah tut gaya to tut gaya
madiralay ka aangan dekho
kitne pyale hil jate hain
gir mitti-me mil jate hain
par bolo tute pyalon par
kab madiralay pachtata hain?
mridu mitti ke hain bane hue
madhughat futa hi karte hain
phri bhi madiralay ke andar
madhughat hain, madhu-pyale hain
jo madkta ke mare hain
woh madhu luta hi karte hain

jiski mamta ghat-pyalon par
woh kaccha peene wala hai
joh sacche madhu se jala hua
kab rota hai chillata hai?

Does anyone know who is the poet? For some time I believed that it’s Hariwanshrai Bachchan, but then I searched in few of his anthologies, and couldn’t find this. Anyways, if anyone knows source of these excerpts, I’ll be indebted if you could share that with me…

6 thoughts on “Of Unknown Poets and Life Fundaes

  1. Jaidev says:

    Hi All,

    I like to read books of Va Pu Kale. Amazing !!

    Could anybody please tell me how can I get books of Va Pu Kale on the internet. It would be better if name of some links mentioned from where I can get pdf, doc versions.

    – Jaidev

Leave a Reply

